Advanced UI

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to Vuo, though I’ve known about it for some time.

I’m starting my first project, which will be a utility application. It’ll require a fair amount of UI - for instance the ability to display and select from a list of NDI servers, and so on. I have a pretty good picture of the processes I need to use to do my video processing in Vuo, but I’m not fully sure how best to implement a UI for configuration of it all. In general it wants to have dynamic menus and some amount of user feedback representing application state.

Duo’s built-in support for UI elements seems pretty minimal.

It feels like trying to use HTML for a front end may not work that well, as Vuo doesn’t seem to have support for web sockets in order to provide feedback and data to the interface. I’m not sure how to use HTML as an interface with responsiveness to application state under Vuo.

I’ve also considered using Max/MSP (one of my normal “go-to’s”) to create an interface based around OSC for data and state communication, but this gets into running (and maintaining) two applications which I’d prefer to avoid if possible.

So, I’m looking for some input on how to use Vuo to create an application which has a UI-based configuration/operation window which includes dynamic menus and realtime state feedback.

Thanks for any considerations.

In trying to come up with a solution for more elaborate UI, I wonder, is JSON (files) the most practical way to exchange data with, and maintain, an HTML UI?

I’m not fully sure how best to implement a UI for configuration of it all. In general it wants to have dynamic menus and some amount of user feedback representing application state.

Some possible options:

• Within Vuo, use buttons instead of menus. IIRC someone at some point shared a composition that let you select a server by displaying the current selection in a label and using previous/next buttons to cycle through the options.