Duplicate OSC messages being sent. How to fix?

Hi, I’m brand new to Vuo and hope to use it to process some incoming video from Syphon sources and send results over OSC. A simple demo patch (that determines the overall brightness) sort of works, but I’m struggling to get the OSC side to work properly. It currently sends duplicate messages (three typically) and doesn’t send them exactly when a new frame comes in from Syphon. So I suppose the problem is ‘Send OSC Messages’ is receiving multiple triggers as the new frame is being processed?

My real patches send many more values over OSC so the duplicates add up to a huge number per second, so much so the receiving App (VDMX) can’t handle it, and I’m pretty sure some are arriving out of order.

Thanks for any pointers on how to get one OSC bundle sent per received Syphon frame!

Adrian

(I’m using the Vuo 2 beta but the problem occurs in version 1 also, so I’m sure it’s user error.)

brightness.vuo (6.22 KB)

I had some success chopping down repeats by using ‘Hold Values’ on a ‘Fire Periodically’ timer but I’m still seeing each OSC message twice. I was hoping ‘Allow Changes’ would trap these but strangely it does not.

brightness 1.0.01.vuo (7.63 KB)

Hi,

i tested and got into the same trouble. I simplified the composition, stripping out Syphon nodes. This shows that probably the issue is tied to OSC input or output nodes.
Let’s wait for Vuo team for ideas, possibly that’s a bug.

regards

michele

(edit: I try to upload a video here, but it doesn’t show neither in preview nor when the post is online)  

oscsend.vuo (2.87 KB)

1 Like

As a workaround, you could build an image filter vuo composition, outputting the values you need. Loaded in VDMX as a filter, you can feed it with a Syphon source from VDMX itself and have the data you need directly as output parameters, without OSC. Stripping all that OSC and Syphon handling that could even give better performances.

1 Like