Projection Mapping Node

A simple keystone / projection mapping node. Options:

• change between perspective and orthographic projection
  • soften / smooth / blur edges

In quartz composer I use a GLSL shader from Thomas Pachoud which works quite good.

makequadlayer.png

@iason: I’m having trouble understanding your suggestion about toggling between perspective and orthographic projection. How would orthographic projection be useful (or even technically possible) in the context of applying projection distortions to a quad? Could you provide an example?  

hi maybe im using the wrong terms, im not good with 3D stuff :D

here are two examples.

correct

false

the “correct” one was done with the GLSL Shader mentioned in my first comment.

the “false” one was created using memos Shader: Projection mapping / quad warping with Quartz Composer & VDMX | memo.tv  

Thanks, @iason. To me, your “correct” image looks like perspective-correct mapping, and your “false” image looks like affine mapping.

I’m thinking that in Vuo’s mapping node, we’d just provide perspective-correct mapping.

Is there a reason you’d ever want to use projection that looks like your “false” image?

i think one of the advantages of affine mapping is, that it keeps lines in parallel.
that can be useful for certain projection mappings.

i havent used the affine mapping in a while, so im not sure about the visual differences.
but thats the reason why i wished for that feature in the first place. so i can just flip a switch and see the difference.

A great addition to this node would be a crop on the input texture. Top, bottom, left and right crop. Take a look at the mapping features of other apps to get a feel for the tools that are used for mapping. This is a great start, the next logical step would be a grid warp patch with bezier options.