Brand new user question - date/time generator

Hi all

Firstly I apologise if this is the wrong place for this type of question - please be kind, I’m just starting out here and mean no harm!

I’m an After Effects designer (for way longer than I care to admit!) and I’m am just starting out using Vuo - it’s a completely different world and something I’m super excited to explore - but it’s also quite overwhelming. I have a very quick question about something I’m trying to achieve and I wondered if someone could help by letting me know if it’s possible or not. I want to create a simple timer that displays the years, months, days, hours, minutes, seconds since a set moment in time. A good example is the mission elapsed time on this page:

I have been experimenting with the Make Relative Date-Time node and created something sort of close to what I want - my composition is attached. I have two questions:

• Is it possible to create a set point in time that the date works from (rather than the values I’ve set in the node) so that’s always counting from then regardless of when the comp is open/used (like the Voyager mission timer)?

• Is it possible format the output so that the words are removed (year, month etc) and replaced with a ‘:’ for example?

I appreciate these may be very basic questions. I promise I am working through tutorials as well and planning to put in the learning hours myself (and not just jump straight into forums to ask for help) - I just have a very time specific need to test something like this as soon as possible, so any initial guidance would be really appreciated.

Thanks

James

date_time_01.vuo (2.21 KB)

Hi and welcome to Vuo ;)

By searching the node library for “date” or “time”, I’ve found the Substract Date-Time node. Guess that is the one to use.
Joined are 3 test compositions. This subtract node counts 30 days in a month, therefore the 8 months and 22 days since 1 January 2020.