Debugging "Your system has run out of application memory"

Hello,

I’m new to macOS application debugging and could use some help finding a way.

I’m running a Vuo composition that accomplishes continuous video playback (as much as possible without gaps) and comprises of 2 video players, taking times preloading and playing video files. There is also a syphon client for mixing a second image layer on top of the video layer.

How should I go about debugging this “run out of application memory”?
I’m running this on a 2018 Intel Mac Mini with 16GB Ram.

I run into this situation, which causes the termination of this application, anywhere between “after more than 15 days” and “after more than 5 days”, of continuous playback.

Thank you very much and sorry for the very generic request.

In our experience, likely causes of a “run out of application memory” error after running an application for a while are:

• The application is using more and more memory (a memory leak) until it exhausts the available RAM / virtual memory.
  • The system startup disk is full. (macOS stores the swap files for virtual memory there.)

The second cause is easier to check. In Finder, locate the volume for your startup disk (under Go > Computer), click on it, and see how much Finder says is available in the bottom bar of the window. If there’s less than about 10 GB, free up some space, then reboot and see if the problem still occurs.

If that doesn’t fix it, then you can check if Vuo, the Syphon client, or another application is using more and more memory over time. In Applications > Utilities > Activity Monitor, select the Memory tab and View > All Processes, and make sure the table is sorted from highest to lowest memory usage. Since you’re diagnosing a fairly slow leak, I’d suggest taking a screenshot of Activity Monitor at the beginning and another after a few hours to see how they compare.