How to use Image Generator Protocol with Render Layers/Scene to Window node?

I’m new to VUO and want to use it to make compositions that I could load into VDMX. However, in the tutorial on VUO + VDMX, nothing is mentioned about such cases when we want to use “Render Layers/Scene to Window” node. The same issue concerns Syphon too. I’m wondering if there is a special way to use this node when we want to generate a composition that would conform the Image Generator Protocol. Or this is simply a limitation of the protocol that could not be bypassed?
Thank you for your reply.

Hi @faulty_a and welcome ;)

Of course you can render layers and scenes to images for protocol modes.
Simply replace the “Render Layers/Scene to Window” with “Render Layers/Scene to IMAGE” nodes.

For example, a simple composition in default non protocol mode would be turned into protocol mode like this (joining them as a .zip too to download).

RenderLayers2Window.png
RenderLayers2ImageProtocol.png

RenderForProtocol.zip (2.06 KB)

1 Like

Thank you for your quick reply, Bodysoulspirit. Yes, I was doing it with some of the patches.
However, there are many examples where the nodes of the Render Scene to Window node ( from the Requested Frame output or Showed Window) are plugged back into the composition (often into Curve, Math, or Mouse interaction). Examples from the VUO example set: Move Spinning Sphere, AddNoiseToClay patches and so on. I can just assume that some compositions cannot be simply adapted and must be totally restructured keeping in mind the requirements of the protocol mode.

For the “Requested Frame” going into Curve, Math (time ports) you can simply use the “Time” published port from the protocol mode !
I guess in protocol mode the “Fire at Display Refresh” would work too.

There are some specifications yes to protocol modes. For mouse interaction for example, see feature request and comments below at “Pointer Interaction” protocol. I guess it’s the same for keyboard inputs.