'If True, Else' Node?

I found myself struggling a bit to work out the logic for an IF-ELSE kind of statement. Eventually I worked out a solution (See pictured). I’m an OK developer, and extremely QC noodler. However, this one was a bit of a brain twister, for what is rudimentary in code.

What I’d love is an Are Equal patch that has an Else output.
Screen Shot 2020-08-23 at 8.27.29 am.png

If you want to filter an external event stream from another compared-if-equal list is true, I would do it the way you did it too.

If you just want to output an event from either false or true, until implementation of this request, you can try an attempted custom node I uploaded to the custom node gallery (and joined in the composition below) (must be in the same folder as your composition in a sub-folder called modules, or install it system-wide in your Vuo User Folder, or embed it in exported apps).

PS : As you can see I only used “event-only” wires (shift-drag) from the output ports, to avoid feeding the boolean data (which would be converted to reals) into the Count node.

Are Equal with Doors 1.1.zip (5.22 KB)

Oh, this is great, thank you. I didn’t know the shift-drag wire-only trick.

Couple of thoughts from someone relatively new to Vuo, so forgive my n00bness…

• I cannot understand why this is not a standard node? Seems like the simplest thing ever, but is technically tricky so solve for otherwise

• I find managing nodes (add to user library etc) a little unintuitive

• The thin/thick wires make sense to me since I remember the concept from MaxMSP back in the day (bangs?). The concept in Vuo must make this pretty difficult for ‘virgin’ users to understand. Especially since it’s a pretty foreign concept in code. I don’t have any suggestions, but hope it’s helpful to hear a new user’s impression. Easy to be a critic, I know! :slightly_smiling_face: