Vuo Plugin App

Well Im new to Vuo, I’m a long time QC user so I finally taken the plunge to learn Vuo seeing QC is deprecated now. Sorry I am a bit late to the party I had been holding out still using QC for sometime. Im still running an older system so I can use QC, and this may be my problem or not. Im trying to build the Vuo Plugin App from the SDK in Xcode. I haven’t upgraded Xcode in a long time. I’m using Xcode version 11.3.1. on OSX 10.14.6 if that helps and am having problems compiling the example from the SDK. I have Xcode and command line tools installed plus qt which I will try making a node in a bit. The compiler tells me I don’t have the pro version of Vuo. Is having the pro version a requisite to building an Xcode app ? Or perhaps there is something else going wrong. Please see my compiler info below. I’m interested in building nodes and apps with Vuo, is this possible with the community edition on my system or am I just going to be banging. my head against the wall trying to figure it out. Im just a person using Vuo and not part of any organization. I would like to contribute if I can figure it out. thanks

1 Like

Hi, @dust. Welcome to the Vuo community!

Is it possible that VuoPluginApp actually did launch successfully? On launch, you should see the app’s menu bar and dock icon. However, it doesn’t show any windows. That’s confused me once or twice before.

If you find that VuoPluginApp definitely failed to launch, could you check for any additional errors from Xcode? The log messages you posted don’t indicate any reason why it would fail to launch.

You can use the Vuo SDK to build nodes and apps, with either Vuo Community Edition or Vuo Pro. That message is just letting you know that Vuo Pro features won’t be available since you don’t have a Vuo Pro license installed.

Vuo 2.4 supports macOS 10.14, so that shouldn’t be a problem — see https://vuo.org/platforms for the list of supported OS versions.