creating multiple "stages" in one composition

im a beginner seeking advice on making multiple stages in one patch: lets say I have one “stage” where I draw some text, then push a action button and then I switch to another “stage”

how would you go about doing that?

Dear,

welcome to Vuo.

In Vuo terminology, what you call “patch” is a composition; not sure what you mean by “stage”, but I suppose it could be a Layer.

This is an example of a way (not the only one) you could switch from one layer to the other.

regards
michele

toggle layers.vuo (3.95 KB)

1 Like

Hello!

I come from a background with isadora, so thats why i wrote stage
lets say i had a row of nodes that generates some visuals, and another row doing the same, and then wanted to switch between them as if it was another composition

not sure if this helps… Still learning and trying to figure out the software :)

Satoshi has built a vuo “Mixer”. And was kind enough to share it. You can probably take a look at the technique used in this composition:

https://community.vuo.org/t/-/6694

1 Like

@halfdankajhj,

We’re glad @krezrock and @cremaschi provided some guidance. We’re not exactly sure what a stage is in Isadora, but here are some additional discussions and compositions you might find helpful:

I used Isadora for an interactivity class while at university. I had some fun with the particle nodes or actors I think they are called in Isadora. I don’t remember using stages so that must be something newer to Isadora. Looking at the Isadora quick start stages set up guide a stage would possibly be considered a window in Vuo. It seems to be a way to send video to multiple displays each stage being assigned a number for the display they project too. They also have virtual stage where an off screen render is made when no display is required.